Only 16 of 161 Chinese cities reached the new — and stricter — air quality monitoring standards in 2014, according to the Ministry of Environmental Protection (MEP).

Zhoushan, Fuzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Huizhou, Haikou, Kunming, Lhasa, Quanzhou, Zhanjiang, Shanwei, Yunfu, Beihai, Sanya, Qujing and Yuxi are the only cities that reached the standard.
China issued a new air quality monitoring standard in 2012, which includes the monitoring of ozone, carbon monoxide and PM2.5, plus that of PM10, sulfur dioxide and nitrogen dioxide.
Cities using the new standard are mainly located in north China’s Hebei Province and the neighboring Beijing, Tianjin, the Yangtze River Delta in the east, as well as the the Pearl River Delta area in the south.

Editorial Message   

News appearing here is the property of Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All rights reserved. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact