Team Australia with the ISA’s Fernando Aguerre. Photo: ISA
Australia And Peru Announce ISA China Cup Teams
Defending Champion Australia And Powerhouse Peru Are Set To Compete In The Second Annual Competition on Hainan Island, China
Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival
January 25—30, 2013
Wanning, Hainan, China
The International Surfing Association is pleased to announce the ISA China Cup, which is the first event of the ISA’s Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival, has confirmed two of eight teams that will be competing in China from January 26 to 27. The defending Team Champion, Australia will be looking for their second consecutive Team Gold Medal, while Peru’s talented team will strive to improve on their fourth place finish in the ISA’s inaugural event in China one year ago.
Following the ISA China Cup will be the ISA’s Hainan Classic, 4-Star Men’s ASP, with a prize purse of $ 95,000 USD and will take place from January 28 to 30, featuring the best surfers in the world competing for a berth on the ASP World Tour. Representing the Aussies in the ISA China Cup will be an experienced young group of surfers featuring Wade Carmichael, Mitch Crews, Lincoln Taylor and Connor O’Leary. On the women’s side will be Nikki Van Dijk and Philippa Anderson.
Team Peru, which placed fourth in the groundbreaking first edition of this ISA event last January, will feature highly regarded Carlos Zapata, Sebastian Alarcon, Juninho Urcia and Joaquin del Castillo. On the women’s side will be Valeria Sole and Miluska Tello. “I’m sure the level of surfing at the ISA China Cup will be amazing,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The waves, the hospitality of the local people and our hosts, plus the participation of world champions mixed with the best up-and coming surfers from around the globe, are some exciting elements that we look forward to in China.”
Showcasing the dynamic pool of talented surfers will be Aussies Wade Carmichael, who is the 2012 ASP Australasia Pro Junior Series Champion, plus teammate Connor O’Leary, who won the first ever ASP event held recently in South Korea. In addition, Nikki Van Dijk is the 2012 ASP Women’s World Junior Champion.
On the other hand are Peru’s surfers who have a number of champions on their squad including Sebastian Alarcon who was the 2010 ALAS Latin Tour Champion, Carlos Zapata, who won the 2013 Billabong Cabo Blanco event in Peru, plus Juninho Urcia, who at age 17 became Peru’s youngest winner of the Peruvian Open Championship, and has been a five-time ISA Scholarship recipient.
The eight invited National Teams that will compete in the second annual ISA China Cup include: Australia, Brazil, France, Hawaii, Japan, Peru, Portugal and USA. Each of them will field their country’s best four men and two women shortboarders, who will compete for the Team and Individual Gold Medals, and the ISA China Cup trophy for the Gold Medal Team with the highest points total combining the scores of all athletes.
The event begins on January 25 with the Opening Ceremony that includes the Parade of Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony, which will be held in the city of Wanning, Hainan Island, in the South China Sea.
ISA China Cup- Team Australia

Wade Carmichael
Mitchel Crews
Connor O’Leary
Lincoln Taylor
Philippa Anderson
Nikki Van Dijk
Team Officials
Martin Dunn
Jeremy Sheppard
ISA China Cup- Team Peru
Sebastian Alarcon
Joaquin Del Castillo
Juninho Urcia
Carlos Zapata
Anali Gomez
Sofia Mulanovich
Team Officials
Ricardo Kaufman
Oswaldo Velez
The event will be webcast live on
About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013.
ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 72 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).
Editorial Message
This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact