The “Master Plan for the Pilot Zone of Hainan International Tourism Island” has now been made official publically, according to the Hainan Provincial Tourism Committee.
The total planning area of the pilot zone amounts to 114.88 square kilometers, covering the north piedmont of Donggaoling to the north, open sea of Li’an to the east, Monkey Island and open sea of Niubai Mountain to the south, and East Line Expressway to the west.
By the end of the planning period, the permanent resident population of the pilot zone is expected to reach 180,000, while the annual overnight tourist volume will hit 12 million. Of the 114.88 square kilometers of planning area, the construction area will take up 48.98 square kilometers.
The pilot zone will form a spatial structure of “three centers, six districts”, namely, the Commercial Art Watertown Centre, Resort City Centre and Tropical Beach Commercial Centre, the Resort City District, Vigor Mountain City District, Tropical Beach District, Art Complex Watertown District, Egret Island District and Landscape Corridor District.
Editorial Message
News translation appearing here is the property of, however, for those who wish to copy the contents in part or in full, please make reference and link the article copied to our site. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact