The newly established city of Sansha in the South China Sea on Sunday announced a list of 45 deputies to the city people's congress, the local legislative body.

According to an announcement issued by the organizing committee for Sansha's first city people's congress, the deputies were elected by 1,100 residents from Xisha, Zhongsha and Nansha Islands on Saturday on Yongxing Island, the government seat of Sansha.

A credentials committee has said the election was conducted in accordance with the election law, according to the announcement.

The State Council in June approved the establishment of Sansha, a prefectural-level city in South China's Hainan province to administer the Xisha, Zhongsha and Nansha Islands and the surrounding waters in the South China Sea.

China's central military authority has approved to form and deploy a military garrison in Sansha.

Sources with the People's Liberation Army Guangzhou Military Command said Friday that the Central Military Commission had authorized it to form a garrison command in the city.

Yongxing Island is part of the Xisha Islands. 

SOURCE: China Daily
Editorial Message
This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact