An unveiling ceremony of China's national sports training southern base was held at Haikou Sailing and Windsurfing Base on September 16th, 2020.

On June 22, 2020, the General Administration of Sports approved that nine sports training bases in Hainan will be universally named as the national sports training south base.

The nine training bases are located in eight cities and counties in Hainan, including Wuzhishan, Haikou, Wenchang, Sanya, Wanning, Lingshui, Chengmai and Baisha.

The nine training bases include:
Wuzhishan City: Integrated Sports Base
Haikou City: Sailing and Windsurfing Base
Wenchang City: Beach Volleyball Base
Sanya City: Beach Volleyball Base
Wanning City: Surf Base
Lingshui County: Badminton Base
Chengmai County: Cerebral Sports Base
Baisha County: Integrated Sports Base

Hainan has unique geographical advantages, including comfortable temperature and good air quality in winter, which is suitable for the winter training of various sports teams.