The 14th Tour of Hainan will be held once again in Hainan from February 23rd to March 1st, 2020.

The event was first held in 2006. It was made a UCI 2.1 race from 2007 and upgraded to category 2.HC in 2009. On October 9th, 2019, the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) published road race calendar of 2020 season, and the Tour of Hainan is successfully upgraded to the UCI ProSeries Events. The  race will be the debut of UCI ProSeries Events in China in 2020.

The eight-day competition will both start and finish in Danzhou, a city in western Hainan. The race will consist of eight stages, with a total length of 1,190.7 kilometers. The race route will proceed in a clockwise direction through all 18 cities and counties on the island.

Twenty teams will compete, including one UCI world team, seven UCI professional teams, twelve UCI intercontinental teams.

According to the Tour of Hainan Organizing Committee, the race will be broadcast live on television across 186 countries and regions. The committee hopes that it can explore the industrial value of the race to drive the vigorous development of the Chinese cycling sports industry.

The Tour of Hainan 2020 is jointly organized by the General Administration of Sport of China, the People’s Government of Hainan Province; hosted by Chinese Cycling Association, Department of Tourism, Culture, Radio, Television and Sports of Hainan Province, Danzhou Municipal Government; co-organized by Country Garden Hainan Region, Haikou Municipal People’s Government, Sanya Municipal People’s Government. Qionghai Municipal People’s Government, Wanning Municipal People’s Government, Wuzhishan Municipal People’s Government, Dongfang Municipal People’s Government, Changjiang Li Autonomous County People’s Government, Chengmai County People’s Government, Qiongzhong Li & Miao Autonomous County People’s Government, Sports Events Center of Hainan province; operated by Tour of Hainan International Cycling Race Co., Ltd.