Brent Dorrington
Australia’s Brent Dorrington. Photo: ISA
As expected, the swell filled in for Day 2 of the Hainan Classic, the second event in the ISA’s Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival. The surf conditions at the left point break at Riyue Bay were clean with light offshore winds and organized long-period swell all day long reminding everyone of Riyue Bay during last year’s event.

"I am super stoked to have turned on the live streaming webcast to see pumping surf at Riyue Bay this morning,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The improved conditions are allowing the surfers to perform at the highest level of competition. I’m looking forward to the final day and to the presentation of the Hainan Classic trophy to the Champion. May the best surfer win.”

Day 2 of competition also featured big upsets. 2000 ASP World Tour Champion, Sunny Garcia (HAW) placed 3rd in Round 3 forcing him out of the competition, and Hainan Classic defending champion Glenn Hall (IRL) who qualified for this year’s ASP World Tour, but lost in the last heat of the day. Caio Ibelli (BRA) was on fire today, nabbing the two highest heat scores of the day, 17.67 in his Round 3 heat and 17.50 in his Round 2 heat. Also, for the second day in a row, Peru’s Carlos Zapata was a standout tying Ibelli for the second highest heat score of the day with 17.50.

Other notable performances came from Kanoa Igarashi (USA), who earned the highest single wave score of the day with a 9.50 and Australia’s Davey Cathels and Cooper Chapman who both got 9.00-point rides. One of the best heats of the day featured a high scoring affair and fierce competition between Indonesia’s Made Widiarta (15.10), Mitch Crews (AUS, 14.53), Davey Cathels (AUS, 14.00), and Vincent Duvignac’s (FRA, 9.57). Widiarta is Indonesia’s and one of the world’s most promising young surfers.

The second day of the Hainan Classic saw the completion through the second heat of Round 4. The event resumes on Wednesday at 7:40am with the ISA Morning Show, followed at 8am when competition starts and a new Hainan Classic Champion will be crowned.
Here is the schedule:
Wednesday, 7:40am China
Tuesday, 3:40pm West Coast USA
Wednesday, 12:40am Western Europe
Wednesday, 10:40am Sydney Australia

About the International Surfing Association

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 72 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).
Editorial Message
This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact