Today will see the start of the 2012 CITIC PACIFIC ShenZhou Peninsula Pro hosted by Wanning, the event that will decide the 2012 ASP World Longboard Champion. The world’s best longboarders have descended on Hainan Island, China and tomorrow they will do battle for the sport’s biggest prize.

Taylor Jensen (USA), reigning ASP World Longboard Champion hasn’t had an ideal lead into the event where he’ll defend his crown, falling ill a few days ago. He’s on the road to recovery and says that he’ll be fighting fit and ready for his heat tomorrow.

"I felt pretty good going into this event until I got sick two days ago," Jensen said. "I’m starting to feel good now though. It’s huge for us that the event sponsors have stepped up to the plate and given us an event. I think only a month ago we didn’t have one, so I’m stoked to have an event and hopefully it’s something we can build on in the future. I really like the idea of doing the women’s event and the men’s event back-to-back, it really showcases two different sides of longboarding and we can grow together as one."

Duane Desoto (HAW), 2010 ASP World Longboard Champion, will be hoping to follow the success of fellow Hawaiian Kelia Moniz who won the ASP Women’s World Longboard Title yesterday. Desoto will take on Adam Griffiths (GBR) and Piccolo Clemente (PER) in heat 4.

"China is very unique place!" Desoto said. "In all my years of surfing and traveling I’ve never been here so it’s exciting to see something new and experience China. I just hope we get some waves and it will be a great event."

Harley Ingleby (AUS), 2009 World Longboard Champion is returning Hainan Island for his second time and will use his experience at Riyuewan Bay to his advantage tomorrow. Ingleby will be in Heat 3 where he’ll face fellow Australian Justin Redman (AUS) and Cole Robbins (USA).

"I was lucky enough to be the Contest Director at last year’s women’s event so I’m familiar with the place and the setup," Ingleby said. "It’s a beautiful coast with lots of different facing beaches so it’s a good place to be. All the surfers are excited to be here and to get the event going."

Live scores, photos and videos check out
For more information log on to

HEAT 1: Tony Silvagni (USA), Remi Arauzo (FRA), Yuji Hata (JPN)
HEAT 2: Rodrigo Sphaier (BRA), Bradley Weare (ZAF), Mike Stidham (USA)
HEAT 3: Harley Ingleby (AUS), Cole Robbins (USA), Justin Redman (AUS)
HEAT 4: Duane Desoto (HAW), Adam Griffiths (GBR), Piccolo Clemente (PER)
HEAT 5: Kai Sallas (HAW), Shohei Akimoto (JPN), Tie Zhuang (CHN)
HEAT 6: Taylor Jensen (USA), Dane Pioli (AUS), Chen Tong Ming (TPE)
HEAT 7: Antoine Delpero (FRA), Timothee Creignou (FRA), Tommy Witt (USA)
HEAT 8: Amaro Matos (BRA), Phil Rajzman (BRA), Steven Newton (USA)
HEAT 9: Justin Bing (ZAF), Damien Castera (FRA), Dylan Macleod (ZAF)
HEAT 10: Edouard Delpero (FRA), Jefson Silva (BRA), Sam Bleakley (GBR)
HEAT 11: Ned Snow (HAW), Jared Neal (AUS), Nelson III Ahina (HAW)
HEAT 12: Ben Skinner (GBR), Eduardo Bage (BRA), Keegan Edwards (HAW)

This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact