The Sri Lankan team for the Asian Beach Volleyball Championship were scheduled to leave for China early morning today (06).
The tournament will be held in Haikou, China with a participation of 24 countries and is conducted by the Asian Volleyball Confederation.
The men’s and women’s teams who won gold and silver medals at the recently held South Asian Beach Games in Hambantota have qualified for this event.
Mahesh Perera, the captain of the men’s ‘A’ team that won the gold medal at Hambantota is the captain of the Sri Lanka team. While Prasanna Udayakumara is the coach of the men’s team Former national champion and player Dammika Silva is the coach of the women’s team. Sri Lanka team is comprising of ten members. There is no manager for the tour and Udahakumara is expected to carry on the duties of the manager as well.
Men’s Number 1: (South Asian Beach Games Gold medal) Mahesh Perera, Wasantha Rathnapala.
Men’s Number 2: (South Asian Beach Games Silver medal) Pubudu Ekanayake, Sampath Peiris
Women’s Number 1: (South Asian Beach Games Gold medal) Thakshila Neranjali, Geethika Gunawardena
Women’s Number 2: (South Asian Beach Games medalists) Sagari Gunasinghe, Nirosha Gunasinghe
Editorial Message
This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only. does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content. For copyright infringement issues please contact